Looking Back at 2014

I have to say that I wasn’t expecting much of this year after quite an awesome year, so to say that this year has exceeded my expectation is an understatement. It has been such a blast really that I’m looking towards 2015 with so much excitement and expectation.

Here are some of the highlights of my year, though there are a lot of small happy moments I had (like this. this, and this) , I can’t name them one by one:

I went to Hillsong Conference for the first time in Sydney. It was really awesome, it was really a great chance to renew my faith and actually praise my heart out to God. The sermons are really good too, it touched my heart and you can even found me shed my tears on the conference. Thank you so much Ronald Ishak and Grace Tahir for this. Extra: #operahousepic

Raised angel investment from Grace Tahir. She believed in me and she’s the one who helped me to start my very first company. Never have I found someone so down to earth and so committed to God. She has been both my friend and my life mentor.

Raised our seed investment from East Ventures. Probably a lot of people are expecting this to happen, but it’s definitely not easy to convince Willson to invest in me. I was without a co-founder and was there with just an idea and concept. But managed to convince him to invest and trust in me to execute the idea. Talenta won’t be where it is today without his trust in me.

Building an awesome team over at Talenta. We are a team of 11 now, growing to 14 starting this month. To be honest, I’m still in a state of disbelief to be able to recruit people and have their career trusted in me and the company. It’s a huge risk for them and I’m forever thankful for their trust.

Traveled to Korea (Seoul and Busan) and Tokyo. Aside from Sydney, I managed to go to Tokyo. Attending Startup Asia Tokyo 2014 and traveled around the amazing city. In love with all the awesome architecture that it offers and definitely the good food. The highlight would be going to the Disney SeaTokyo (left me with Disney World to go to). Korea was my final trip last year in November. Went to both Busan and Seoul with my dad. Have always loved Seoul and fell all over again with that trip. Managed to chase after some of the great foods I didn’t go to in 2013 such as Myeongdong Gyoza, the Samgyetang over at Gyeongbokgung Palace, and the pork rice soup! And finally went to Haeundae Beach at Busan too. We got a pretty amazing AirBnB apartment too, my dream apartment really. (valued at $1m - wish I had that kind of money). Extra: #awesomepicatBusan

Got my dad baptized. This probably is one of the main highlight if not the best last year. Dad was born in a Buddhist family, though never really get him committed in the religion. Dad started going to the church I go every now and then but got pretty committed in the last few years. Especially ever since we (his childrens) were baptized and got a lot of blessing from God. Dad finally made up his mind and registered for a baptism which he did. Super happy to be able to bring my own parent to His way.

Met a lot of more awesome people. I have met more and more amazing people year after year, and this year is as good if not better. Can’t wait to see what 2015 has in place for me.

Since we did the 2014 flashback already, might as well do the 2015 resolutions:

Hope you have had an amazing year in 2014 too and as excited as I am this year!

 
1
Kudos
 
1
Kudos

Now read this

Catching Fire

Just done watching the second installment of Hunger Games, Catching Fire. Had a huge expectation as it has great reviews among my peers. Was a bit doubtful since it has so many details, that it will be hard to leave anything out. I came... Continue →